LIFE IN REVERSE: PEEKING INTO MY EARLY LIFE Part 2

Now you know the story of how I started peeking.

Well, that wasn’t the only time I did a little peeking.

Life in Reverse: Peeking into my Early Years Part 2I suppose I would have been about the same age as my  experience peeking down the knothole.

Probably around 4 years old. It was New Year’s Eve. The neighbors, at least some of them, usually came to our house for a party. Not a rowdy party, mind you. Most of the neighbors were older people. My dad was by then nearing his mid-forties, my mother just past the middle thirties.

Of course, I was too young to stay up for the party. But that night I couldn’t get to sleep. I wanted to be a part of the fun. So I took to peeking again. This time the hole was much larger. This was where a stovepipe used to be to help heat the second floor of our house. I guess that was when we used the wood stove in the kitchen. By then we heated with an acme stove in the living room.  But there was that hole, just made for peeking, one that I could actually see through.

Whenever my mother came into the kitchen, just below my peeking place, I would whisper, “Mommy!” Naturally she couldn’t hear me. But I was afraid to speak any louder. I have no idea why. I just kept peeking down that hole and hoping.

Finally, well past midnight, everyone had gone home. It was then that my mother discovered my peeking. It was then, too, that I discovered that she would have let me come down, at least for awhile, had she known I was there. Too late! The party was over. Again my peeking had done me no good. The knothole was full of darkness; the stovepipe hole was full of light. But my peeking was a failure in both cases. I wonder if there’s a lesson to be learned here? 🙂

Please stay tuned for my next adventure in peeking. I was a little older then, but probably not much wiser. Watch for “Life in Reverse: Peeking into my Early Years – Part 3”

I hope you have enjoyed my musings. I do appreciate your visit and I hope you will leave a comment below. Do drop by again. And if you have a few minutes, please visit my other site. Have a super week.

11 thoughts on “LIFE IN REVERSE: PEEKING INTO MY EARLY LIFE Part 2

    • Thanks for dropping by, Peggy. I have one more ‘peeking’ story to tell. I had no siblings to do these things with. I was on my own. And as a very shy child, that was probably rather difficult for me. Glad it brought back good memories.

  1. Pingback: LIFE IN REVERSE: PEEKING INTO MY EARLY YEARS | Diane Stephenson dot com

    • My parents seldom entertained – only on New Year’s Eve until we moved from that neighborhood. And I didn’t have any siblings, so there was no entertaining there either. I had to entertain myself! 🙂

  2. Diane, this is in response to Bird and your comment about your book.
    I would be so interested to know about your book on prayer, you see, I thought I knew all about it and was even called a prayer warrior by those who knew me! But God knew I didn’t know nothin’ about prayin’ So last year, studying the Book of Isaiah in BSF, He taught me-He showed me how the prophets prayed and prayed specifically and I started praying like He showed me and my prayers began to be answered very specifically. What a lesson! And of course now I have learned trust as well. Last year was a particularly rough year going through fire every month, but to learn the lessons, it is nothing to go through, because the lessons are everything. I have been profoundly changed by my last 6 years really which is why I blog. I invite you to check it out and let me know what you think. And when you get that book published, I want a copy! you can write, so interestingly so!

    • I’m so glad you stopped by, Cindy. It’s good to meet a fellow intercessor. I will definitely visit your blog. It is not an easy road to be an intercessor and prayer warrior, but it is so rewarding when those prayers are answered and you see people getting free from bondage and moving forward in the Kingdom. God bless you.

    • Thanks for stopping by and checking out my blog. Glad you enjoyed my peeking memories. I seem to remember some very random things from my early years and I have no idea why. Some of what should be more important has been lost for many years.

      • I have the same thing about some memories – the finish of the karma is what one friend said about it… it felt right; so, in may case, I look at it like that.

Please Leave a Reply

